Krishna Bhatt – The Underclass Lover


Krishna Bhatt's The Underclass Lover

Krishna Bhatt, who I only know briefly through email – I assume it is Krishna Bhatt the author who emailed – asked me to say a few words about his book, The Underclass Lover, and I am happy to do so.

The Underclass Lover is a collection of short stories and I started the first story, The Underclass Lover, late last night. I have to admit it is a very well written story and an interesting one. All the stories are based on the complex social and political developments taking place in the contemporary Nepal. I had to check the meaning of the word underclass since I wasn’t sure my  intuitive understanding was the correct one.  It seems I was mainly correct and if you are in doubt Wikipedia has a good definition here.

The Underclass Lover is 180 pages long and published or self-published by WingSpan Press. The book is available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble. It is available in both paperback and Kindle from Amazon but it is strangely not available for Barnes and Noble’s eBook reader, Nook.

Synopsis:

These stories unravel the complex social and political developments taking place in the contemporary Nepal, which is trying to come to terms with the violent Maoist war that continued for more than a decade, which a tenuous ceasefire arrangement has put on hold presently; and the carnage that eliminated the whole family of a ruling King. The characters often struggle to live with the dual psychology of the people and their own ambiguity – rendering most of the situations and contents of their life farcical. This book complements the previous successful debut book of Krishna Bhatt: City women and the Ghost Writer.

Here is a brief excerpt from The Under Class Lover:

Pasang also knew that one of his customers was actually
a mistress and not a tenant of the landlord of the house she
was living in, who also was an actress and acted in television
dramas, in very small roles. Since the landlord’s wife had
caught a very debilitating disease, she was not able to fulfill
the demands of her well-built husband, who exercised
everyday and looked half her age. So there was the young
actress in their lives, living in the ground floor of the house
without paying any rent. The actress did not become a wife of
the landlord, though she was living in that house for almost a
decade now. In fact, his wife has cleverly warned the landlord
not to marry the actress as it will invite a property dispute
among them and he too may end up losing some of it.
The actress, being a migrant into the city, at least had…

Hindu temples in Patan, capital of one of the three medieval Newar kingdoms - Wikipedia

Map of Nepal - Wikipedia

Enhanced by Zemanta

8 thoughts on “Krishna Bhatt – The Underclass Lover

  1. Interesting… sounds like a good read!

    “I had to check the meaning of the word underclass since I wasn’t sure my intuitive understanding was the correct one.” <——– I do that a lot. I don't take my own intuitive 'knowledge' of something as the be all end all, I am totally addiction to dictionary.com. It's amazinggggggggg the amt of words/terms we use/know off that we never really truly understand the real meaning of.

    Oh, thanks for the excerpt!

  2. Pingback: aka_lol | WOW ! World Of Words.

Leave a comment