Israel Kamakawiwoʻole – “Over the Rainbow” and “What a Wonderful World”


I haven’t had the time to blog recently being occupied with everything my brain can lay its neurons on, from downloading movies, books and music to learning the ins and outs of Lightroom 3x. From planning a vacation to liking my Pentax K-7 even more but unhappy with my Tamrac camera bag. With my mind all over the place, and some good places at that,  I stumbled on Israel Kamakawiwoʻole (aka Iz),whose medley of “Over the Rainbow” and “What a Wonderful World” I remembered from the movie Meet Joe Black, one of my favorites. Israel Kamakawiwoʻole was born in 1959 in Honolulu and became a famous musician and singer. Sadly, he died at a young age in 1997. The official Israel “IZ” Kamakawiwoʻole’s “What A Wonderful World” video on YouTube has so far received over 7.5 million plays but this blog is not allowed to embed that version. The popularity of this video is an indication of how good music can be timeless. This is one of my favorite songs and I am constantly on the lookout for songs which I feel and hope will live forever. Recently I discovered R.E.M‘s new Everyday is Yours to Win but only time will tell how long it will live.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

