Maracas Bay Trinidad Photos – 2010


Maracas Bay Trinidad

I don’t go to Maracas often enough and after many false starts during the last twelve months, I finally went in January.  The shark and bake was  drooling-good as always and the prices now seem stable and as affordable as KFC. I will say this again, do not kill a shark and bake with too many extras as you will miss the whole point of the dish.

I took a few photos of the beach but decided that there were only ten I cared to share.  It was a hazy day with only a few people on the beach so early on a Sunday morning close to Carnival. This meant bikinis were in short supply as they were still asleep in their owner’s draws. This was my first outing where I tried my Sigma 28300mm F3.5-6.3 DL lens. It’s an ok lens that won’t break the bank or reveal too much bikini detail when stretched to 300mm. The Sigma is a finicky auto-focus lens which is nice to walk around with by the beach or possibly even on Carnival days. I haven’t had the time to use the Sigma too much but when I do (I used it on Carnival Monday) I will post photos for inspection, if not admiration. Click for Maracas Bay photos.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
16 thoughts on “Maracas Bay Trinidad Photos – 2010

      • I agree – love the colours! The one with the lifeguard and the 2 flags is a nice capture 🙂
        Thanks for sharing these – I haven’t made it to Maracas in a while either.

        • Thanks, Chennette. The colors are straight from the camera jpg. I also have them in DNG format but have not processed them in Lightroom as I have to do a reinstall.

        • I took a few photos in RAW in January and keep meaning to continue, but I keep thinking it’s going to take up more time to deal with that…or more brain cells learning new things…or just laziness… 🙂 the Sigma 50mm f2.8 I have been using has been great with colour so far though, much better than my kit lens.

          • The Pentax can save an image in both RAW and JPG at the same time but I think RAW alone is the best choice as you can convert to JPG anytime. The best, but not very good reason for shooting in JPG alone would be to pack more images per GB. Processing in lightroom can be tedious but not every photo needs processing. Learning slowly is the best way to not burn braincells 🙂 The Sigma 50mm f2.8 is a macro lens I think and a fine lens, according to the reviews. I need to get me a real macro lens as well.

Leave a Reply

