M. Night Shayamalan’s The Last Airbender


“You are the last of your kind, all that remains of a once powerful nation” ~ from The Last Airbender

For the Summer of 2010, or as we in Trinidad and Tobago are fond of saying, for The Rainy Season, Paramount Pictures and Nickelodeon Movies will release M. Night Shayamalan’s latest flick, The Last Airbender.  The movie was originally called Avatar: The Last Airbender which is the name of the animated TV series the movie is based  but after James Cameron rushed and named his movie Avatar, the production houses dropped Avatar from the name in order not to have Cameron ride Shayamalan’s back for free. Shayamalan’s Last Airbender stars Jackson Rathbone, Dev Patel, Cliff Curtis, Nicola Peltz, Randall Duk Kim, Jessica Andres and many more too numerous to cut and paste into this bog post. The movie is not without controversy as the original TV series Avatar: The Last Airbender “is set in an Asian-influenced world of Chinese martial arts and elemental manipulation” but the movie’s cast is mainly white. This angered pro-Asian people and I suppose the movie was made to make money more than anything.

The Last Airbender is opening on the 4th of July weekend in the US and was recently promoted with a high-price TV ad spot during the Superbowl . I am not sure what the production cost is for The Last Airbender but it looks like quite a few million dollars US but less than the cost of one Chinese  NAPA. Unlike NAPA, The Last Airbender seems set to be enjoyed by millions plus make some money.


Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
18 thoughts on “M. Night Shayamalan’s The Last Airbender

    • I hope Shyamalan doesn’t muck this one up but I have to see it to know for sure. I saw Unbreakable again a couple weeks ago on DVD and every time I see this movie I like it more. Many of his movies are like that but not all.

  1. I was mad about the TV series (raced home from work to make sure didn’t miss it!) and if the movie is at least half as good as the series, it should be good. Looking forward anxiously….

  2. I want to see this but M. Night Shayamalan’s track record is well…its iffy to tell the truth. Sixth Sense was brill, but then you have things like The Village and Lady in the Water which makes you want to rip you brain out and scrub those memories out for good..Signs also iffy, was good up till the end…sigh

    • Sixth Sense was his best and Unbreakable was not too far behind. Maybe with The Village and Lady in the Water he was trying to be too brilliant. I have my fingers crossed for Airbender as well.

  3. I usually always at least enjoy Shayamalan’s visuals in his movies. Even if they surround a story like the Village or Lady in the Water…which had lots of potential and my kinds of ideas but…
    I only saw the airbender on tv very recently when browsing to find cartoons to show the niece. unfortunately I have no reliable tv-watching time to get hooked.
    nor do I have a teatre to go to here in Guyana, although borrowed-office-projector and big blank white wall works WONDERS.

    • Do you know the price of the bulbs for those “office projectors?” 🙂

      I know about the Airbender but not a follower for the same reason. I love movies but tolerate TV.

      I get the feeling the studios, having seen most of the finished product, believe The Last Airbender will be a big hit.

      • why would I need to know the price of office equipment? and borrowed equipment at that… 😉 actually it’s a relatively small one the office bought for travel and I seriously started looking around for one for myself – I wanted to project tv everything on that wall!

        • You have a point I don’t know the price of that $70,000 photocopy machine I borrow from time to time either 😉

          projectors are fun especially when you own it but I like the brighter ones better.

          • I must confess that I seem to vaguely recall being part of consultations and demos with the new projector in the office and one of the questions we did ask was how much do replacement bulbs cost…I must have decided to conserve those grey cells because I cannot even bring a figure to mind.

  4. The movie did cost alot, but it really was not worth it. The movie is so bad, its actually astonishing that it could be that bad. Come check out remakethelastairbender.wordpress.com. This is my way of protesting!

  5. 20th Century Fox must be extremely pleased with his last movie The Happening and here is why:

    Worldwide Gross $163,403,799
    US DVD Sales $21,389,046

    Total cost to make: $60,000,000

Leave a Reply

