Noriko Sakai – No Prison, Please


The Pretty Sakai NorikoThe popular singer, Noriko Sakai, became a celebrity in Japan in 1987 when she was almost sixteen, after releasing the hit song, Otoko no Ko ni Naritai. She was, or is, very popular in Japan,  Hong Kong and Taiwan but strangely, almost unheard of in Trinidad and Tobago.   She was famous not only for her singing but her squeaky clean, girl-next-door image. Because of her popularity and high public expectations, she later went into acting and probably mild stimulant drug use.

In August this year the shock turned to horror when her husband was arrested for possession of illegal stimulants and Noriko disappeared, apparently she was on the run. When Noriko reappeared she was charged with possession of illegal drugs, a stimulant, a whopping 0.0008 grams of it which police found at her home. Noriko Sakai pleaded guilty to using and possessing the illegal drug. Prosecutors said they want an 18-month prison term for Noriko since she is a celebrity and setting a bad example for the public. The court’s decision is scheduled for November 9.

noriko sakai ankle tattooI am not too sure, but from what I have read so far I think the Japanese press went after Noriko after she was seen with a sexy tattoo on her ankle. A tattoo on a woman’s ankle is usually a sign which says “bad but exciting girl above.”

Noriko’s wants leniency and now intends to get a divorce from her trouble-making husband and she also wants to study nursing care in the future. A tearful Noriko was quoted as saying “I have a tendency to try too hard to live up to others’ expectations of me. I thought (stimulants) would help me move my body. … I used the drugs of my own will. … I am the one to blame.”

Noriko SakaiHere is what I think. Noriko Sakai should not go to jail since she already paid her dues to the society by losing face. Losing face is a big thing in Japan but the concept is quite alien to Trinidad and Tobago’s bad-john and big foreign bank account holding politicians. Noriko Sakai should not go to jail because she is too pretty for prison. How will keeping Noriko Sakai in jail for 18 months make society a better place. It’s not like she knocked a member of the public unconscious because the member spilled a drink or wine up on one of Noriko’s friends.  I can’t possibly see any judge looking at Noriko’s pretty face and sending her to jail. I don’t know much about Japanese legal traditions, but even the most heartless woman judge could see the folly in sending a celebrity this pretty to jail for a crime that is quite common in the manmade celebrity world.

UPDATE:

Suspended Jail Term For Noriko Sakai

Enhanced by Zemanta
9 thoughts on “Noriko Sakai – No Prison, Please

  1. Lol, yeah let all the pretty celebrity criminals go free and lock up the ugly regular people.
    I never did hear about this one but the fact that she looks good or is a celebrity, should notaffect her sentencing. If it was up to me, celebrities (pretty or ugly) would get a stiffer sentence.:-)

    • And that’s why I was never appointed a judge – I am weak around a pretty celebrity face 🙂

      The law is the law but sentencing should take into account what the person has contributed to society. Noriko has made many people happy over the years so this should count for something. Being pretty? Yes! Pretty counts and it’s just a biological bias 🙂

  2. All my respect to you, but You wrote the MOST STUPID ARGUMENT EVER: “Noriko Sakai should not go to jail because she is too pretty for prison”. It means that if she want to kill somebody, she can live her life normally because “she is too preety”. C´mon, please grow up and be an adult.

  3. After research a few of the weblog posts in your website now, and I actually like your approach of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list and might be checking back soon. Pls try my website as nicely and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

