How Not to Learn to Draw


early work by the former atrist turned blogger, aka_lol

early work by the former artrist turned blogger, aka_lol

I drew the picture about 5 or 6 years ago while learning to draw using the book, Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain by Betty Edwards. It was my attempt to reproduce a drawing from the book Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark. I wished I continued to learn since it is a skill I admire in those who can draw well. I also admire people who can write and those who can eat a wrapped chicken roti while standing without the roti suffering fatal structural damage and leakage.

Picasso, Nude Woman with Necklace 1968Recently, I saw a painting by the late Pablo Picasso and like the rest of the non-art world, I said, “What?” I have been saying “What?” about Picasso’s work since I have been seeing Picasso’s work. I suppose my reaction is typical and it is why he is considered a great artist though my reaction was initially one of “You call that art.” I am not here to argue if Picasso is great since popular opinion and auctions have settled that. I am only writing this post to encourage me to learn to draw as it will be my fallback position if this blogging thing doesn’t work out.

Art is never finished, only abandoned ~ Leonardo da Vinci

Enhanced by Zemanta
14 thoughts on “How Not to Learn to Draw

  1. To be a Picasso, you must needs draw with your toes while viewing your art in a mirror hanging from the ceiling. The art may not be so great but mix it with sex, and you have a winner. 🙂

  2. You should continue to draw Aka.:-) Art is relative,lol. I do like some of Picasso’s works but not all. I even like some graffity artists. But when I see paintings like the one in the link below. I say : WTF!? What does this have to do with art???

    Clyfford Still
    1947-J, 1947
    68 x 62 inches
    Oil on canvas
    Siriously, that crap looks like somebody just knocked over a few cans of paint.:(

      • I think I saw that on the ground when that zabocca tief dropped de ripe one under yuh tree, LOL

        Yeah, ah realise we calling yuh the wrong name all dis time… Aka being Also Known As we cyah call yuh dat cause you telling we you also known as LOL… so LOL it is…

        • And yeah, yuh go be jealous because I have a zabocca growing in wintery England now… and no tief.

          Will post pics after Diwali.

        • My early net friends called me LOL so hence the name aka_lol. How I started with LOL is hazy right now but I never thought I would end up with it. Strangely, I see a few people also using aka_lol as their handle so I guess it’s gaining popularity like the name Calder 😉

  3. Thanks for the encouragement, Chica.

    You know, if enough people say your work is good or stare at it in disbelief then you become famous as an artist. You may have no talent but people would be afraid to say so. It’s the same with most politicians. That is the kind of artist I want to be, political 🙂

  4. I see talent there, akalol. I suppose art appreciation is almost totally subjective, like taste in literature.

    I like some of Picasso’s art as well, especially work from his Blue Period. But I have to admit that some of it makes me go ‘Huh?’ as well.

  5. The Betty Edwards book is an amazing book which I recommend for more than drawing. Since I read the book, I sometimes sit and stare at people. This has taught me much like how to run from security 🙂

Leave a Reply

