Making Movies and Movies Made in Trinidad and Tobago


mystic_massseur

Trinidad and Tobago has many things going for it as an ideal location for making movies apart from  rebates and government bureaucracy. Some of these advantages are highlighted in the Trinidad and Tobago Film Company’s website. Along with  The Film Company, I want to remind moviemakers that we have waterfalls to West Mall, board houses to board Chairmen’s houses. We have mountain greenery to bulldozed greenery. We have a few toy guns and many real ones. We have some tomato ketchup but plenty real blood. We have new tall buildings and flattened squatters shacks. We have people sleeping on Serta mattresses and people sleeping on the streets. We have millstones in Parliament and a pretty Mayor in Chaguanas. We have an irrelevant clown-criminal as Opposition Leader and a real pompous fool as a Prime Minister.

What the Film Company has left out, or I didn’t see, in the website is our uniquely beautiful women who should be given more exposure than just Carnival or in some poorly designed website. I don’t know how successful the Film Company is in getting movies made in sweet Trinidad and Tobago but I wish them success since we have much more to offer than their website or travel advisories would suggest.

backlashUsing IMDB, I made a list of movies where Trinidad and Tobago is the main, or only filming location. There are many other movies which list Trinidad and Tobago as one of the filming locations but the country was only a minor location. I saw some of the newer movies but none of the older ones.  I assume Mystic Masseur was the movie with the biggest budget since it was based on a V.S. Naipaul’s novel, directed by the late Ismail Merchant and had former financial wizard turned cocoa farmer and alcohol industry fan, Lawrence Duprey, as one of the executive producers.

Here is a list of movies made with Trinidad and Tobago as the main filming location:

Rebel Heart (2009)

Contract Killers (2008)

Backlash (2006)

SistaGod (2006)

The Mystic Masseur (2001)

Flight of the Ibis (1996)

Men of Gray (1990)

The Last Island (1990)

Girl from India (1982)

Bim (1974)

Operation Makonaima (1974)

The Right and The Wrong (1970)

Fire Down Below (1957)

Enhanced by Zemanta
19 thoughts on “Making Movies and Movies Made in Trinidad and Tobago

  1. Pingback: Global Voices Online » Trinidad & Tobago: Movie-Making

  2. I’ve been trying to get my hands on The Right and The Wrong for a helluva long time, but guess what?

    The number on the Film Company’s website does not work, or is manned (PC correctness – womanned?) by someone who does NOT work… either way, myself and many friends (from T&T calling on my behalf) have tried and received no response. I guess the phone number is as relevant as the Film Company, eh?

    By the way, there is one (maybe Bim?) where the clown/criminal (now TITMAN) had a major role.. perhaps he should have stayed in that comedy caper.

    Ah well… we can’t be forever lucky.

  3. I will see if I can find a working number. I knew someone who was able to contact the company a couple months ago. Titman would be Bas and Mattit would also be Bas 😉 I guess he is both right and wrong.

    I never saw The Right and the Wrong but now you make me want to see it. It doesn’t seem to be on DVD but I hope there is a good archived copy to transfer to digital.

  4. I remember people were making a big thing about Ralph Maharaj was once an actor 🙂 I will certainly see if I can get a copy and not forget to sell it to you at a good price 😀

  5. There is a black and white movie that was either partially filmed in Trinidad or filmed there. I remember watching it and they were talking about the old military base in chagaramas.

Leave a Reply

