Pentax 50mm f1.4 – Cactus Flower – Trinidad


Cactus Flower in Trinidad and Tobago

Cactus Flower in Trinidad and Tobago

I used this short-lived, cactus flower in my front yard as my latest model to demo the Pentax 50mm f1.4 at f1.4. The depth of field is very shallow so nearly everything is out of focus except what I almost wanted to be in focus. The flash wasn’t fired and no tripod was used. The photo was shot in the overcast conditions of that early Sunday morning.  This Pentax is not exactly a macro lens but it could be used on big flowers and giant insects for closeup shots. I think the the Pentax 50mm f1.4 makes a great portrait lens.

Enhanced by Zemanta
7 thoughts on “Pentax 50mm f1.4 – Cactus Flower – Trinidad

  1. GREAT SHOT!!! I use a Sony Cybershot advanced point and shoot because I’m still brushing up on the photography skills.

    When I’m ready to upgrade again I think it’s going to be a Canon EOS or Nikon SLR.

    Do you do film photography as well or are you strictly digital?

    • Currently, I am digital but did film with a Chinon SLR (which still works, I hope) and also a Fujica SLR. I would like to try b&w film again.

      Your choice of Canon or Nikon can’t be wrong.

Leave a Reply

