Welcome to Trinidad and Tobago, President Obama


obama_air_force_one

Dear Mr. President,

I am writing  to welcome you and your wife to our beautiful country and despite what you were told by certain politicians, this country belongs to all citizens and a few multinationals.

Sir, when you land at the Piarco International Airport with Air Force One I would advise you have your pilot check the runway for cracks. A new section of the tarmac is being paved by a contractor who, let’s put it this way, gets away with murder in this country. This contractor has done shoddy work on the runway before and was paid a huge sum to correct his mistakes. But I hope he gets it right this time. I also hope the Chinese contractor can finish the refurbishment of the Old Airport Terminal Building in time for the Summit. The Contractor is using Chinese labor so it should be ready. I think the same contractor is in charge of keeping dogs from straying onto the runway. Also, don’t forget to sign your customs declaration form since our customs officers can get nasty if you don’t. Customs don’t care who you are.

I know you wouldn’t be driving into Port of Spain in the traffic regular citizens have to put up with every day. This is unfortunate since you can only know people when you see how they behave in traffic. I don’t want to say any more but it is not a pretty sight. Use the Priority Bus Route but make sure you get a pass from the Minister of Works first. Try not to meet this Minister in person since he thinks he is better than the average citizen and lets everyone know it.  He is not a well liked person.

I don’t want to dwell on the negative side of Trinidad and Tobago but the amount of murders for the year will be 110 by the time I type this full stop. I know it sounds high for a country as small as ours but our Government has tried every trick in the book to keep us from noticing. The crime  situation is very bad and every time our Minister of National Security goes on TV and says things are going to get better two or three people are murdered. Sometimes I feel these murderers have no respect for The Minister. Also, it wouldn’t be right if I didn’t warn you about the Beetham. If you ever get stuck in traffic or get a flat tire in that area you have to be careful. The Beetham Bandits snatch cell phones and rob people at gunpoint in broad daylight. Be careful with your Blackberry.

Every country has its fair share of jokers who pose as Opposition Leaders and Trinidad and Tobago is no exception. You might meet the Opposition Leader and you would know him by the way he rolls his R’s and pretends to be honest. I can’t say too much about him other than he had a hand in the construction of the new airport terminal and owns a political party.

The recession has not hit us as bad as it did your country but we are always a little behind. Everyone is looking out for it but some feel we will start to feel the best effects after the Summit. The Summit is costing us plenty money but according to our Prime Minister we will have long term benefits such as government funding to keep citizens safe and  TSTT wireless Internet. Citizens are thankful for the Summit since without the Summit the Government would have spent the money on more tall buildings and drapes.

I hope by now you had the time to visit mayarobeach.com. It is a cool website with Trinidad and Tobago photos including hundreds of Trinidad Carnival pictures. I am sure you will like what you see. Trinidad and Tobago looks very nice without local politicians.

I hope you enjoy your stay and have a rewarding Summit. We in Trinidad and Tobago look forward to all the investment opportunities the Summit will bring to our shores and hope you can buy more oil and gas from us at better prices. We don’t want to beg but if we have to we will.

Best Regards,

aka_lol

https://akalol.wordpress.com/

p.s. don’t forget to try the Shark and Bake and read this blog

16 thoughts on “Welcome to Trinidad and Tobago, President Obama

  1. Thanks for your kind welcome. My wife and I are very much looking forward to your warm weather. We miss Hawaii, but love Washington so far.
    Regards, Barack

  2. i am a foreigner visiting this country for tenth time. Over the weekend i was in the community of Rio claro and witnessed the complete abuse of a young man by four police officer. Sitted in the home of some relatives i noticed a police vehicle approching, a young man sat near the road alone apparantly on teh phone. He didn’t have a minute to say a word or move he was just brutally attacked. Later on that evening my aunty informed me taht the young man was charged for the posession of marijuana. I was in a state of shock, this was happening right before my eyes and i saw no such thing . I was later told by my relatives taht the police officer went by the name of “PARKER” and that he was above the law . In a country where a few years ago i felt safe and visited at every opportunity i got, i can now safely say i see where the crime comes from. The very same people who are entrusted to enforce laws and safety are themselves breaking them.I can also safely say i will never visit this country again and i entend to spread teh word this is madness!!!!!!!!. Trinidad needs to fix these problems before inviting the US president here.

  3. Love your letter. I am coming to t and t in two weeks and I am a blond scandinavian, so I hope and assume that the prime minister and his friends will invite me for some drinks.lol.

  4. To all of by Trini brothers and sisters who submit these comments from abroad – please do us all a favour and stay where you are – comment from afar. Don’t come here because this place is so awful. Stay in those countries where the police will stick a broomstick up a man and kill him !! Where a father will keep a daughter holed up in a basement for many years and have multiple children with her etc etc. I beg you …stay out there. We have problems sure .. but we are generally a warm and kind people and it is being worked on. All you negativos are the ones who get excited just before touching down at Piarco !! But don’t come back -stay where you are !!

  5. I am in total agreement with objective! Whilst we are trying to bring Trinidad and Tobago down, some of us are fighting hard to build her up, especially me, who promotes Trinidad abroad.

    The guilty ones should be reading more international newspaers asn watching live shows on the cable to see exactly what is taking place around the world.

    Then they would be conscious that our twin island republic is not so bad after all.

    I really regret having to find stuff like this, but it is also an eyeopener, to better understand the ignorance of uneducated and misinformed nationals!

  6. Last year I encouraged a good friend, who recently left the US Marines , to come to Trinidad and Tobago for holiday. In less than two weeks in Trinidad and Tobago – actually Tobago – he and his wife were held up a gun point and robbed. Back in Trinidad his rented car was broken into and a bag with a cheap sandals was taken. He was parked at a popular mall in the West and the incident happened between 10:00 am and noon. The Mall security and management were much less than helpful to a person who was obviously not a local. Indifferent, he said. It happens all the time, they said. While you and I (www.mayarobeach.com) promote Trinidad and Tobago there are visitors who promise never to return to sweet TnT and I can assure you things are not getting better. Bad news travels very far and very fast, and wishing it wasn’t so doesn’t make it so. We need to heal the wound, and prevent people from getting wounded, not just cover the sores with marketing.

  7. From a US citizen engaged to a Trinidadian in Trinidad: I have seen worse in the US and I have seen better, there is good and bad here, as in all countries. Every country has crime, corruption, the downtrodden, and a group of people calling for change. The question is whether or not the people calling for change outnumber the criminals, the corrupt, and the downtrodden who do nothing more that expect someone to take care of them, pay their way, and make their lives better.

    Most people have the ability to leave a crime infested area, change jobs, and/or improve their lives and circumstances, but this doesn’t seem to be as easily done here. The people I have dealt with directly seem to be waiting for someone else to take care of the mess, make their lives better, they just seem useless in every capacity.

    My future relatives in Trini have been evicted from a rental property they have lived in for years and instead of actually doing something about it, they sit and talk about the government land they have waited on for 10 years… they intend to let the owner of the house evict them, they borrow money and always promise to pay you from the additional pension my future father-in-law was promised… 15 or more years ago, all I have heard has been I need, I want, I am waiting and can you gimme, gimme, gimme… Within a month of being here my future mother-in-law ‘borrowed’ or siphoned off over $1000 US from me and she only stopped when I told her I was broke and would not pull more money out of my US bank.

    I thank God that my fiance is different and warned me about them. I was blind and tried to be kind, it took me a month to harden my heart against them. I have been in Trini since April of 2009 and have given my future in-laws money to repair a car, buy monthly groceries, put a down payment on another rental property – that went to a vacation for them, and so many little things I have forgotten how stupidly I handed out money.

    I wondered if this was the type of people I wanted to be around, be related to, live with… I wondered if this was a prime example of a ‘Trinidadian’. Are all Trinidadians like my future in-laws? Like the women at the Chaguanas market, adding rotten fruit to a bag of produce you picked out so that in addition to paying for what you actually CHOSE, you pay for their refuse… not once or twice, but many times… Until you learn to tie the bag you have filled, to trust none of the vendors in an effort to avoid such disgusting behavior. You learn NOT to travel with earrings, a watch, or any jewelry because you’ve had a gold earring and your hair ripped out when being brushed against. You wonder why the neighbor’s 35 year old son is not working, has never worked, and why he and everyone else thinks it will be so much better in another country… ‘I am going to the UK, the US, wherever…’

    It’s not better in the UK or the US, it’s just as hard. If you actually work toward something, you live a good life, and if you wait for someone to pay your way, then your one of the people bringing this country down, and bringing every other country down.

    It’s not going to be better somewhere else, your still going to be the same person, either a person calling for change, a criminal, one of the corrupt, or one of the downtrodden, doing nothing more that expecting someone to take care of you, pay your way, and make your lives better.

Leave a Reply

