Must Love Dogs


Witts

People can be divided into three major categories; dog lovers, dog haters and those who are indifferent to dogs. I am a dog lover and I can’t understand why there are the other two types of people. It’s not so much I am intolerant to people who don’t like dogs but I am bewildered by these people’s bizarre nature just as they are about my indifference to ice cream. Even though I find dog-indifferent people to be odd, I accept the fact they do exist and are probably just like me except they don’t share my love for this fine, furry and irrespirable animal. Dog haters, on the other hand, I am wary about and won’t trust them with my pet cockroach much less the second best reason for living.

What I have discovered over the years is that you can tell more about somebody by their attitude to dogs, and by extension animals, than their attitude to money, sex or butt tattoos. Some people believe that because humans can make land mines, cluster bombs and touch screen phones they are superior, more deserving, and in charge of deciding which creatures live, which creatures die, and which creatures end up as road kill. Having intelligence doesn’t mean being superior, it doesn’t even mean being happy, it only means being powerful. Every superhero comic book reminds us that with great power comes great responsibility and that is a given. But when those with great power claim no responsibility or act irresponsibly then the end result can only be the tragic end.  What is certain is that dogs are our unconditional friends and our intelligence our lifelong curse.

I think we are drawn to dogs because they are the uninhibited creatures we might be if we weren’t certain we knew better. They fight for honor at the first challenge, make love with no moral restraint, and they do not for all their marvelous instincts appear to know about death. Being such wonderfully uncomplicated beings, they need us to do their worrying. ~George Bird Evans

13 thoughts on “Must Love Dogs

  1. dogs are cool no doubt. but i am a cat person by nature. dogs are too willing to sacrifice their soul for you, i am not sure if i am ready to be loved quite that much.

  2. I am also a cat person. It goes with my wanting solitary moments and not needing to be followed. Or, alternatively working a little harder for devotion…
    But I don’t hate dogs. I like puppies, and even older dogs 🙂 I guess I lean towards the indifferent.

  3. Lose no more sleep over your curse of ice cream indifference; all is forgiven now. 🙂

    I’ve written an (unpubished) memoir about raising my son, and in some places the dogs who grew up with him sort of take over the story. The boy expressed the fear a few years ago that he might not be great father material because he found puppies so much more adorable than babies! I wouldn’t go that far, but they’re not far behind. Our dogs, by the way, had more heart and personality than many people I know…

    Cats? Nah. Nothing against them, but all that condescension is a bit trying. I admire other people’s.

  4. chennette, cat people can also be dog people and I am both but my dog is not a cat person 😉 I grew up in a cat family and I became a dog person by accident with a stray. I never looked back since or imagined I could ever be a non-dog person again. I think all cat people are potentially good dog people 🙂

    Liane, it feels so good to be forgiven it makes me want to do wrong again 🙂 Your son isn’t wrong since most people find puppies more adorable than babies – they are more adorable 😉 Fatherhood is scary stuff but if someone can care well for a puppy it means they have what it takes to be a good father (parent). Remember, there are no bad parents, only bad children – just joking 🙂

  5. Pingback: Global Voices Online » Trinidad & Tobago: Dog Lover

  6. I think my position on dogs is well-publicized. I like them better than the majority of people. I suspect most exceptional people to be dogs that have learned to wear disguises and/or to type.

    I also like cats, but for different reasons. You have to admire their security with themselves, independence and confidence. They’re like mini Antonio Banderi that will poo in boxes.

  7. I share your view of dogs and wish more people were dogs.

    Cats are nice if only because they radiate a sense of superiority over those who feed them 🙂

  8. Is this a picture of your dog? What kind of dog?

    I too, love dogs and cats. I’ve always had at least one, or both. I’m currently out of the cat loop because the last thing I need is another chore (litter box).

    And after my last two dogs died, I swore I’d be a one dog girl, again, because of the chore business, but when you go from a giant dog down to a tiny dog, the poop scoop and exercise departments are on a doable scale :o).

    We are once again, a two dog home (and a guinea pig home and we have some fish, but that’s it!)

  9. Yes kim, she is my dog and spoilt rotten 🙂 Her name is Kitts and so far, she is an only dog but has many dog friends…and a couple dog enemies. Kitts is mixed with Pomeranian and an unknown larger breed dog. She is more on the small side. I always believe it’s better to have more than one dog and maybe we will have another dog at home soon.

    Ever read Rescuing Sprite? Great book!

    I like fish but need to make the commitment to clean the aquarium first.

Leave a Reply

