The Five Best People Who Are Not in Heaven…Yet


I have been tagged

I have been waiting to be tagged for almost a year and now that I have been tagged, I am at a loss for words. This tag came from Onedia of Onedia in the Ozarks blogging from Arkansas in the US. Here is the tag:

If you could spend an entire day with any five people who are now living

  • who would they be
  • why would you choose each person in the group
  • how would you like to spend the day with them
  • where would you like to spend the day with them

The five living people I would like to spend an entire day with are with old man Hefner in a mansion somewhere in the US, but I would like to have a more active day than Hef. With that out of the way, I would like to get down to serious business. I once heard someone say in a movie the best people are either married or dead, and I thought that was being repetitious. Anyway, my choice of five living people would be Barack Obama, Richard Dawkins, Stephen King, Bill Gates, and Sir Paul McCartney.

Barack Obama is an obvious choice because he has caused the world, and maybe even the people in the United States, to look at him closely and commercially. Obama may be just another charismatic politician but that is what I would like to find out. I would like to spend the day on the campaign trail to see first hand how he talks to people and if he swears.

Richard Dawkins is a disliked man in the religious world but I admire his courage to speak out, with scientific reasoning and logic, against some dangerous practices adopted by people. It doesn’t matter where I spend the day with Mr. Dawkins once there are no suicide bombers around.

I would like to see Stephen King work. Stephen King is a master storyteller, to use the old cliché, but to be so prolific and for so long is an amazing feat. I won’t talk ghost and accidents with the King, but I think everyday conversations would be enough for me to find out who he is. I don’t think he is a scary man and I doubt he could raise the dead in real life.

The first thing I would like to ask Bill Gates is why did it take so long to come up with a stable version of Windows and why is Vista so bloated and expensive. I would also tell Mr. Gates that I admire his success and charitable nature but I am curious to find out what he does with his money all day. Probably a day at the Office with Bill Gates would do it.

I decided on Sir Paul McCartney because he is one of the members of The Beatles who is not dead. I could go on and on about The Beatles but everything I say would have been said before and with better grammar and punctuation. Things like, they changed the face of music, they changed the world forever, they had stupid haircuts. I would like to ask Sir Paul what some of his lyrics mean such as “I am he as you are he as you are me and we are all together.” I would also like to find out how he gets his protein and was she worth it. I would like to spend a day with Sir Paul when he is not in court in England.

9 thoughts on “The Five Best People Who Are Not in Heaven…Yet

  1. Interesting list and great reasons. I have to clarify that you were supposed to spend one day with the group…but your post and itinerary are so interesting that I won’t hold you to that point.

    I guess I don’t know much about Dawkins, so I need to google him. However, the other folks are great . I of course am an avid supporter of Obama, admire Gates for putting his fortune to good use, and who would not want to spend the day with Paul (well except the ex). I only started reading King a few years ago and he is just so much fun for a philosopher.

    Thanks for participating.

  2. Thanks for the link Onedia, and I will have to wait to get home to stream the YouTube. It seems there are some engineers who are sucking up my bandwidth at the office 😉

  3. “…I thought that was being repetitious.”

    That’s good and funny!

    As for Paul — why not Ringo?
    As for the particular lyric phrase, he means — when you pick your nose, you pick OUR nose.

  4. Pingback: An Infrequent Tag — My Response « Onedia in the Ozarks

Leave a Reply

