Book Thing


A Shelf of Books

Stealing is contagious and that is why I took this from the blog and bookstore called Wordtryst 🙂

It’s a book thing.

1. Hardcover or paperback, and why?

Hardback because they look more worthy, but they are harder on the cuddle position if longer than 400 pages.

2. If I were to own a book shop I would call it…

The Bookie

3. My favorite quote from a book (mention the title) is…

That is a trick question and nobody could have only one:

(i) There is a lot they didn’t tell you about death , she had discovered, and one of the biggies was how long it took the ones you loved most to die in your heart ~ Stephen King – Lisey’s Story

(ii) I don’t know what frightens me more, the power that crushes us, or our endless ability to endure it ~ Gregory David Roberts – Shantaram

4. The author (alive or deceased) I would love to have lunch with would be ….

I would be scared senseless if I had lunch with a deceased author, not to mention I would have very little appetite. Living authors would be Stephen King but not Naipaul.

5. If I was going to a deserted island and could only bring one book, except the SAS survival guide, it would be…

The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

6. I would love someone to invent a bookish gadget that….
…would go to work so that I could stay home and read.

7. The smell of an old book reminds me of….

…the old public library after fumigation.

8. If I could be the lead character in a book (mention the title), it would be….

Arthur Dent

9. The most overestimated book of all time is….

If You Want Closure in Your Relationship Start with Your Legs by Big Boom

10. I hate it when a book…

…doesn’t make it to the bargain shelves.

7 thoughts on “Book Thing

  1. Great new header photo…Books…the only thing better than books…audio books so I can clean, drive, shop, compute, work (oops don’t do that any more) or wait in line at the bank and still read.

  2. errrr…I should clarify… audio books on my Creative ZEN player downloaded from my friendly library. I have 4 on there now and room left for photos and music.

  3. I am so ashamed… The Hitchhiker’s Guides languish on my ‘must read’ list still…

    Love your responses. The Bookie? Do we have a little vice here? This is not the one I’d have picked for you, somehow… 🙂

    Ooh, I love your gadget! Can I have one too? Work is so overrated.

    The Public Library was my first association for the ‘old books’ question too. The Central Library, actually. The one that used to be by the QP Savannah when I was a child.

  4. Don’t worry you will read Hitchhiker’s one day but be warned, it’s not for everybody 😉

    Bookie was my last choice. I wanted book in the name and all the good ones were taken – Bookworm, Bookends, Bookoholic, Checkbook, etc, so Bookie ended up being the choice 🙂

  5. You would WANT to be Arthur? The poor guy… I’d rather be Ford Prefect.

    The Salmon of Doubt was a great introduction to me on how a “real” writer writes.

Leave a Reply

