The Quest For The Golden Ratio


The Golden Ratio

The girl who cuts my hair is attractive but hardly smiles when she has a scissors in her hand. I don’t know if this is good or bad but I wish I knew. She has the intensity of a surgeon and the looks of a short and pretty model. Her hair always looks different every time I visit but I like the red and the green.

I am not too fussy about how my hair is cut but rather who cuts my hair and how she looks in jeans. For a man, getting a haircut from an attractive woman is the most fun he can have while sitting in one position. Attractive hairdressers with ample bosoms is not the only reason I am glad I am not bald, but also the girls who are in the hair salon waiting or dying. Some girls look quite good in aluminum foil while others have their legs, lips and brows waxed in a different chamber. Waxing used to be considered a form of torture in the olden days, but now it is considered necessary if one is to remain competitive.

To some extent, beauty is in the mind of the beholder, but there are visible ratios in women and objects that are considered more appealing than others making beauty mainly biological rather than cultural. This ratio is called the Golden Ratio. To beautify is to make beautiful by adjusting the objects’ ratio until golden, or as close as possible to golden. This is where the phrase “You struck gold with that one” came from. The Quest For The Golden Ratio also gave rise to diets, gyms, cosmetic surgery and Dr. Phil. If I greet a woman who is attractive I say Happy to see you. If she is not I say Greetings from Planet Earth. I mean what I say in both cases but what I never say to any woman is You look like the right ratio.

In a follow up to this blog post I will try to come to terms with beauty and the brain.

5 thoughts on “The Quest For The Golden Ratio

  1. I’ve always been a bigger fan of “je ne sais quoi” beauty myself. It can’t be manufactured.

    Speaking of the Golden Ratio, I imagine your photos from carnival are some of your most popular. 🙂

  2. As the mate of an engineer (luckily one with a well developed artistic side) I would have guessed (without your profile) that an engineer wrote that post! It is like the “Good Eats ” guy’s approach to cooking….. liberally laced with science. Not a bad thing, but sometimes knowing why or how something is what it is takes away from the pure appreciation of the untouchable essence.

    O.

  3. I try not to take things apart to see what makes them beautiful and my photography tries to show just that.

    To mate with an engineer is quite a good choice 🙂

    I agree with Matt, and “je ne sais quoi” is what beauty is all about.

  4. Tangential — From Richard Feynman, the late physicist and all-around interesting guy:

    “I have a friend who’s an artist, and he sometimes takes a view which I don’t agree with. He’ll hold up a flower and say, ‘Look how beautiful it is,’ and I’ll agree. But then he’ll say, ‘I, as an artist, can see how beautiful a flower is. But you, as a scientist, take it all apart and it becomes dull.'”

    “I think he’s kind of nutty.”

  5. Matt, I believe you can take something apart and appreciate the beauty even more. I am however not suggesting you do that to people but trying to understand beauty doesn’t diminish it. I like Feynman.

Leave a Reply

