Con-flum-mox-ed – No Laughing Matter


He said: What movie do you want to see?

She said: Anything, it doesn’t matter.

He said: Ok, let’s see Hostel.

She said: No, not that, it’s scary.

He said: I thought you said anything.

She said: Yes, anything but I don’t want to see a scary movie.

He said: Walk The Line then.

She said: No, not that, it’s too country musicish.

He said: Fire Wall?

She said: It’s Firewall and no, too teckie.

He said: Memoirs of a Geisha?

She said: Read the book already.

He said: Good vibrations?

She said: Never heard about that, is it a Disney movie?

He said: Ahem! I don’t think so. I am seeing three x’s next to it and a duck, but I don’t think it’s Donald.

She said: Get serious, it’s the middle of the week!

He said: I am serious and I thought you said anything.

She said: Yes, yes, anything I am in the mood to see. Why are you turning red again?

He said: Do you know the meaning of the word “anything?”

She said: Yes I do and I am beginning to understand that you don’t.

He said: Now I am conflummoxrd.

She said: I thought we agreed you would not use that word anymore until the true meaning was sorted out.

He said: But I can’t wait on the Oxford people forever. They are currently studying it and wrote back saying they were Conflummoxrd.

She said: A likely story. I bet the Oxfordians are men.

He said: Two men actually, James Conflummoxed and his brother Jessy.

She said: No wonder they are Conflummoxed. How do you pronounce it.

He said: Con-flum-mox-ed. It’s a very sophisticated sounding word, almost like a serious medical condition.

She said: Is there a cure?

He said: Not yet but I am sure a breakthrough is eminent.

She said: Don’t you mean imminent?

He said: Can’t a cure be both eminent and imminent?

She said: If it’s a cure for Conflummoxed I suppose it can be both. What are the symptoms?

He said: A chronic case of infrequent, pathetic and meaningless blogs.

She said: Like this one then?

He said: I am afraid so.

6 thoughts on “Con-flum-mox-ed – No Laughing Matter

  1. I need to be repetitive. You Insane Inane man. Wonderfull skit, but i can’t help to think that you made the woman a lil overbearing and air headed. Was that intended???

  2. fire, I knew you would like the skit but yet be troubled by it. I also like when you need to be repetitive 🙂

    i can’t help to think that you made the woman a lil overbearing and air headed. Was that intended???

    You know, I get that a lot and not without good reason.

    The characters in this mini-skit (sounds like mini skirt, one of my favorite topics) was more of a reflex action than character assassination. You say air headed as if it was a bad thing, but in some cultures air heads are worshipped and adored by many followers of the lesser intellect. It’s not that I think most women are air heads, for indeed they are the opposite, but air heads can be inspirational is a skittish sort of way.

    The phrase overbearing woman is a tautology but one used all the time, even by me :))

  3. Can u guess whats the first thing I did after reading this blog?

    *drum roll*

    Ta da!!!

    dictionary.com lol

    somehow or the other, the ended up asking me ‘Did you mean John of Lancaster?’ intead?

    I guess John was conflumoxed too.

    Good work aka 🙂

  4. Just in case fans, well wishers, and people after my head can’t log on to dictionary dot com, I copied the following for reference purposes only. Now I am more confused but blog comments can do that to even the best and worst of us 🙂

    TAUTOLOGY [16c: from Latin tautologia, Greek tautología repeating what has been said, from tautó the same, from tò autó the (thing) itself].
    (1) Also pleonasm. A term in rhetoric for unnecessary and ineffective repititition, usually with words that add nothing new: She was all alone by herself; Me myself personally.
    Many tautological (or tautologous) expressions occur in everyday usage. The tautology in some is immediately apparent: all well and good; to all intents and purposes; cool, calm, and collected; free, gratis, and for nothing; ways and means.
    In others, it is less obvious, because they contain archaic elements: by hook or by crook; a hue and cry; not a jot or tittle; kith and kin; null and void; part and parcel; rack and ruin; weird and wonderful; without let or hindrance.
    (2) In logic, a compound preposition that is always true: A or not-A, as in Either it is raining or it is not raining in Dublin today.
    © 1992 The Oxford Companion to the English Language.

  5. Tunks, I call that photograph Ramco vs the Car. What you see is only the poster, but what I hope to do is make it into a movie and a sequel 🙂

Leave a Reply

