Fat Chance



The wind was cold by tropical standards and I shivered like all tropical people do, which is quite unsightly to the untrained eye. I started to look for the sun at around 5:45am, but when the first useful light appeared I knew the sunrise would be as bland as a politician on a door-to-door campaign. This prompted me to pack up the meager camera equipment and go back inside to enjoy what was now a room-temperature breakfast. Photographing a spectacular sunrises, or making an ordinary sunrise look spectacular, is all a matter of being at the right palace at the right time, understanding a bit about controlling the light exposure with the camera, and having a sturdy tripod along with two cans of anti-bandit spray in the cocked position. The point-and-shoot in Auto mode doesn’t quite cut it in the world of presentable photographs of sceneries. The day in the life of someone who is photo-minded and who needs to leave a visual legacy behind because he is not prone to making people happy with his visibility, is stressfully exciting at times. I have taken more photographs with my mind than with my camera, which proves to me that photography is mainly a mind thing, a learning to see something in nothing type of activity. Drawing is the art of seeing and so to is photography and Carnival.

Unfortunately, I have not been good at making people look real and exciting in my photographs and this made many people angry causing them to throw painted stones and bundles of dry grass at me. I think I don’t try hard enough, or have subjects who are accommodating when I try hard to accommodate. I am one who also believe all people can look good in photographs since I am into silhouettes and shadows. This, and my fear of painted stones, have me doubting if I will ever become a well-rounded photographer unless I continuously eat Hershey Bars for a few months. Since I don’t care too much for sweets there is not even a fat chance of that happening.
8 thoughts on “Fat Chance

  1. hey cuke, thanks for the frame of mind 🙂

    I will work on the button and try to live up to the standard set by the others before me 🙂

  2. ” I have taken more photographs with my mind than with my camera, which proves to me that photography is mainly a mind thing, a learning to see something in nothing type of activity.

    Thats so true. I think blogging falls under that catergory… cuz most of the entries are made in our minds, and remind there too.

    I’m glad u mentioned the bandit spray – thats very important these days.

    Keep on takin pics…and watch out for the flying stones.

  3. “someone who is photo-minded and who needs to leave a visual legacy behind because he is not prone to making people happy with his visibility”

    If not visually stimulating definitely verbally so. (to be taken w/ a few grains of salt)

    I dont mind helping you with your chocolate consumption issue though. Having no valentines has not assisted my new hobby of cultivating LDLs.

    No matter your level of skill – the other day i referenced your site to show a school mate pics of trinidad who was doing a project. I prowdly displayed your work and the fact that i knew the photographer.

  4. fire, I can be visually stimulating as well as verbally – the two things don’t have to be mutually exclusive – now where did I hear that before 🙂

    I have never been a fan of chocolate because I was scared by the sight of a choco-addict in action when I was a child. It is not a pleasant sight.

    Valentines day was created by a close-to-bankrupt chocolate company several hundred years ago. This choc firm had all the ingredients right in their bars of chocolate except for one main ingredient, guilt. Once they discovered how to add guilt to chocolate their sales went through the roof. This marketing scheme was later adopted by a rose company, a jewelry outlet, and several years later by a lingerie company. Strangely enough, a toy company has now entered the fray. To make a short story shorter, these companies soon pooled their heartlessness into one big heart and called it Valentines Day. The rest is painful history 🙂

  5. Tunks, dodging flying stones can be a bit dodgy but if they are painted it makes for easier dodging. We must be thankful for small blessings and spend the bigger ones.

    Someone once said we all have photographic memory just not all of us have film. In modern times we have to say not all of us have memory cards 🙂

Leave a Reply

