Scariest Movies Ever


 

Most people are not afraid to get scared and some even will pay money to do so. With all the recent talk about the new movie, Paranormal Activity 2 and how people are jumping several times and several inches during the movie, I decided to make a list of some of the movies, I found scary.  Scary doesn’t always mean jumping at every bang or appearance of an ugly face, but it means being afraid to sleep with lights off at night for weeks or months after viewing.

Some of the best movies ever made are scary movies, but you will never find most of them being nominated for, much less winning any mainstream awards. Maybe the movie world still think boring an audience into a coma is art. I know people who went to see scary movies due to office peer pressure and faked bravery by sitting with their eyes closed or looking at the vibrating head of the person in front of them for the entire movie. Those people are known as wimps and should be exposed for what they are. I like scary movies because it takes my mind away from the scary parts of daily life. Things like slow moving traffic in the Beetham, the price of tomatoes, or seeing a rapidly aging Colm Imbert on TV.

I made a poll to select the scariest movies ever made, the results of which will be used for nothing in particular except fun.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About aka_lol

I am a self-taught, self-healing, self-indulgent, self-schooled, self-fish blogger. Why I say it is more important than what I say.

13 responses to “Scariest Movies Ever”

  1. Liane says :

    “…or seeing a rapidly aging Colm Imbert on TV…”

    BWAHAHAHA! Gulp. Snort.

    I won’t attempt your poll as I’ve only seen 1 and a half of the movies on the list. Sixth Sense didn’t scare me, and The Shining DVD died when I was halfway through. The half I saw didn’t scare me either. Maybe because I’m no longer able to see past that joker Nicholson to his character. (pun intended)

    When I want to scare myself crapless I pick up the local newspaper. :(

    • aka_lol says :

      I didn’t find Sixth Sense scary in terms of sleepless nights but I did find it to be scary in a morbid way. I agree, Nicholson is never scary, just irritating. The Shining was scary and it was because of Shelley Duvall and her scared look.

      I try to avoid the first few pages of the newspaper but even the Sports section is depressing now ;)

      The Shining - Shelley Duvall

  2. bandi says :

    lets just say i didnt want to take showers after a certain flick on the list…

    also brings to memory taking baths with a female… ‘I Spit on your Grave’

    children shouldnt be exposed to these type of trauma

    • aka_lol says :

      I think people who are afraid of showers are Psycho ;)

      I never saw I Spit on Your Grave but maybe one day on cable or $10-DVD. A good horror movie can change a child’s life just like witnessing a real murder :(

  3. Deepa says :

    Starz has a scary movie marathon on Halloween….you should enjoy that if you like sacry movies. I think a couple on your list made the line up for tomorrow. The girly (and cowardly!) part of me will be looking for a romantic comedy to help put me to sleep.

  4. Liane says :

    I love my showers too much to ever watch Psycho. I Spit on Your Grave looks like it might be fun, though. All you guys who think women ‘sorf': Be afraid. Be very afraid. Love it when a women gets her revenge on! :P

    • aka_lol says :

      Men are scared of women and even terrified by some so when women claim to be afraid of scary movies, we know it’s time to be afraid. Very afraid 8-O

  5. celebrities videos says :

    I basically desired to thank you so a lot however once more. I’m not certain what I would’ve handled without the type of advice shared by you directly on this problem. This was an absolute difficult situation in my view, nevertheless being able to see this professional strategy you solved that forced me to cry with happiness. I will be pleased for this support and thus believe you know what a powerful job you were carrying out educating the other people all via your web site. I’m certain you’ve never met all of us.

  6. Dreamweaver tutorial says :

    I loved those movies. I remember when I watched those it really scare me especially the paranormal activity.

  7. Perth Web Design says :

    I’m a great fan of horror movies. I think even if I spend money just to scare myself it doesn’t matter because it’s just worth it.

  8. whale shark swim says :

    I can say that my scariest movies I have ever seen is “My Bloody Valentine”. It thrilled me to death.

  9. Teodora Mcleroy says :

    You made some nice points there. I looked on the internet for the subject matter and found most individuals will go along with with your site.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers

