Inglourious Basterds – A Big Hit


Inglourious Basterds poster

Inglourious Basterds poster

Inglourious Basterds, and not Inglorious Bastards, is a movie which touches the hearts of men and women over 16 who always wanted to smash the brains out of a Nazis skull but couldn’t find a suitable baseball bat in Nazi-occupied France during the war. Inglourious Basterds is genius director, Quentin Tarantino’s latest way of offending the conventional moviegoers with blood and brains set to inappropriate music and Brad Pitt.

brad-pitt-The movie takes the audience on a trip back to the time when people were judged and killed because of their religion and looks. Tarantino prescribes the suitable revenge on the Nazis through Lt. Aldo Raine (Brad Pitt), an American soldier who prefers to say Inglourious Basterds since it’s the American accent way. Inglourious Basterds has been described as a dark, gruesome comedy by some and a mild love story by those whose head got stuck in the popcorn bag for too long during the show.  The movie was made not only to point out what the Nazis did to the Jews was bad but to also show arrogant leaders they could never have too much security they can trust at the movies.

inglourious_basterds_poster04Inglourious Basterds is an Oscar worthy movie since it contains some of the key Oscar-winning characteristics – WWII. I thought in Trinidad and Tobago, Quentin Tarantino would not have many adult followers but the cinema was packed with Brad Pitt fans last Thursday. There was even clapping at the end. Despite Brad Pitt’s award-winning performance, Christoph Waltz may be the Joker who stole the show from Mr. Pitt. Mélanie Laurent and Diane Kruger were only two women in the movie that had a little action in high heels and no sex. Tarantino may be obnoxious but he is very self-critical when he voiced his opinion of the movie through the voice of Lt. Aldo Raine in the last line  saying : You know somethin’, Utivich? I think this might just be my masterpiece. I think he is right.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About aka_lol

I am a self-taught, self-healing, self-indulgent, self-schooled, self-fish blogger. Why I say it is more important than what I say.

18 responses to “Inglourious Basterds – A Big Hit”

  1. Chennette says :

    you and this movie-watching again!
    I in Grenada, where one might think we’ve already colonised, since in Grand Anse, we’re surrounded by Republic Bank, Mario’s pizza, Rituals…but they do have a cinema here!

  2. Jumbie says :

    Brad Pitt, Martin Laurence, Tom Cruise, Keira Knightley, Kareena Kapoor…

    What do they have in common?

    They annoy the shit out of me. Never watch a movie with them if I can help it.

  3. aka_lol says :

    The modern-day way of invading a country is through foreign money and pizza but more recently, with movies and Trinis :)

    • Jumbie says :

      She is no Jessica Alba and can be described as 2 aspirin laid out on an ironing board, which might account for the heated headache I get.

      As for her acting, I can’t say since I have not seen enough of her either way. (^_~)

  4. sherby57 says :

    I watched the movie last week and still don’t know entirely what to make of it! I have written some of my thoughts on it here: http://poursomegravyonme.co.uk/2009/09/02/inglourious-basterds-crayzy-muuvie/

    But I suspect that I will need to see it a second time.

  5. Aby says :

    Ohh man thanks 4 the review. I’d love to watch this one, specially after the last Brad Pitt movie I saw. I think a hit is due on him.

  6. Daisy says :

    What a wonderful movie by Quentin Tarantino.
    I watch and loved it from the beginning.
    All characters are great, and Christopher Waltz are amazing.
    I have a movie blog, you can take a look at this page..

    http://www.watchonlinemovie.tv/inglourious-basterds-2009/

  7. shells says :

    I too was surprised by the packed house on a Sunday night to see this movie, and for the first time in a while folks applauded at the end of it. (Last time I experienced applause at the end of a movie was for ‘Hangover’, but that was a completely different audience!)

    Christoph Waltz was great in this movie…why haven’t I heard of him before??

    • aka_lol says :

      Christoph Waltz makes a good villain and Tarantino picked his actors very well. Tarantino is good at casting. Waltz mostly or only starred in German movies until now.

  8. Liane Spicer says :

    I’m not good at watching gruesome movies… There’s a death scene in Thin Red Line that just haunts me, and it wasn’t even gruesome as such.

    3 of jumbie’s major annoyers are also on my ‘won’t pay to see a movie with these guys’ list. Oops, I’ve given it away. It’s the guys. Saw Kiera Knightley in The Duchess, last week and she acquitted herself fairly well.

    • aka_lol says :

      Tarantino gruesomeness is meant to “entertain” in a ridiculous way. He tries to be more funny than nightmarish.

      I didn’t see Dutchess but I like Kiera Knightley in any role where she can be thin and elegant.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

