The Pencil


The Pencil

I am sitting in an empty meeting room waiting for everyone to come late. There is a nice looking pencil on the table. The rubber looks unused. I am tempted to take the pencil, but I know my life may be changed forever if I do. I learnt that from TV. I grab the pencil and put it in my shirt pocket. I make my choice. I feel regret mixed with excitement. It feels good. I am sure no one would miss it and I doubt I would ever be a suspect. I am too good looking. It’s comforting to know the police have stopped searching for anything. They mainly run errands. I still need to have an alibi because I realize stealing isn’t only the act, it’s a process that never ends. I must have eternal vigilance. I will claim I took the pencil because I thought it was mine since, like the Nissan Almera, they all look alike. People are starting to come in the room and I am suddenly self-conscious. I think they are all staring at my pocket and my new pencil. I start to behave stranger than a work of fiction. I take the pencil and start to draw on my notepad instead of making vital notes. I draw a stick-figure policeman and a working police car. People are starting to make fun of my drawing. I am hoping they would understand my hidden message and my cry for affordable therapy. Some claim the working police car only exists in the fantasy world. They miss the point. I am starting to cold sweat like Crazy and I can’t think of anything but lead. I don’t like this misery and I want my less guilty life back. A voice in my head says I think too much and that’s why I suffer. The same voice says there is only one way to have a guilt free life and fans in whose eyes I can do no wrong. I decide to become a politician.

Tags: , , , ,

About aka_lol

I am a self-taught, self-healing, self-indulgent, self-schooled, self-fish blogger. Why I say it is more important than what I say.

7 responses to “The Pencil”

  1. mistipurple says :

    i like your writings. does that mean i need therapy too?

    i shouldn’t have asked.

    i credited you in my post. not that you can do anything about it now. it has been published.

  2. aka_lol says :

    I feel honored. I read your post and I smile. It’s always good to mentioned in blogs. I don’t think you need therapy since you blog. It is the cheapest way to attempt to achieve mental stability :)

  3. Matt says :

    “I doubt I would ever be a suspect. I am too good looking.”

    Wonderful stuff.

  4. krissnp says :

    I will vote for you. But few have won for whom I voted in politics.

  5. aka_lol says :

    Matt: you are encouraging me so I just posted something new. Thank you very much :)

    krissnp: I don’t know if I am an electable person but I think I am, for the very least, likable :)

  6. HS says :

    Loved the ending.

    I’ve imagined aka_lol to be good-looking. :)

    Not many good-looking Trini politicians, huh?
    Run, I’m sure you’ll get a vote based on that alone.

  7. aka_lol says :

    Looks are important in Trinidad and Tobago politics, and it is all that will ever matter. The politicians use makeup and mirrors to make sure of that.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

